News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[d20] The Comfort Zone

Started by Andrew Norris, January 26, 2004, 05:25:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andrew Norris

I started a reply to the "Spycraft -> Wushu" thread, but realized that while my experiences were similar enough to warrant a reply, what I really wanted to do was describe my latest gaming session in detail. I'd love for anyone and everyone to dissect the game from a theoretical standpoint, and I'm happy to answer questions about it. Heck, this is my first time face-to-face GMing in almost a decade, so I just want to talk about it. :)

I ran a D20Modern game this past weekend which started as a very matter of fact, by-the-rules game, but metamorphosed into something very much like Wushu. I think our consensus was that if the session had been a TV show or movie, it started off as "Law and Order:SVU", took a brief pass through "X-Files", and ended up in a cross between _The Matrix_ and _28 Days Later_.

Preparation

I've been reading the Forge for several months now, and so my initial impulse when I managed to get a local group together to game was to do something in Unknown Armies with a focus on Premise similar to what I've read about in Actual Play of Sorceror. However, the players were all familiar with D20 Modern and D&D 3rd, and the easiest carrot to get them to sign up was to go with somewhat familiar territory. I did provide a Premise, "How much does the world around you have to change before you do?", although I didn't make any attempt to introduce full-blown Narrativism to the players.

The basic setting, a truck stop and convenience store off Interstate 40 called "The Comfort Zone", was taken from _Exit 23_, an introductory adventure for Dark*Matter. In practice, this really meant that I just printed out the map from the PDF and threw everything else away.