News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Frequency/amount of sorcerous aging

Started by nsruf, March 05, 2004, 04:13:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nsruf

I'm still learning TROS at the moment, and now have some "magical" questions for the long-time players and seneschals:

How often and by how much do sorcerers in your games age on average?

What is the most extreme aging somebody has undergone, and was it "worth it"?

Does the aging really encourage thoughtful use of magic? Is the penalty to little or too much in your opinion?

Any insights would be welcome.
Niko Ruf

Spartan

Neither of the sorcerers in our campaign have aged a day from magic use.  The greater risk is being discoverd by the masses as a sorcerer, rather than the actual aging itself, IMO.  Just confine one's spell casting to emergencies or SA-fuelled moments, and the fledgling arcanist will have a long and interesting carreer.  The penalty seems ok relative to the benefits derived from magic in a magic-poor setting.  :)

-Mark
And remember kids... Pillage first, THEN burn.

Dain

Wow! How is that possible? Without actually having seen spell casting yet, it seems like most usefull spells have a CTN of no less than 7 (again, newbie impressions with no solid examples to back it up, so I could be wrong), meaning the aging target number is also 7. To get 7 successess you'd normally have to roll at least 18 or so ten sides (just based on probability of 4 in 10 chance) to resist all that, and then you'd have to have more dice left to cast with to get a successful casting. Are your sorcery pools really that big or is the newbie (me) misunderstanding something major here?

Edit added after original post: