News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Speed vs. Realism ... where do you draw the line?

Started by Andrew Morris, March 31, 2004, 02:25:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Andrew Morris

Hey, everyone. I'm still new to the Forge, so if this post is on the wrong forum, I apologize.

What I'd like to know is whether or not you'd be comfortable with a game system where every conflict was boiled down to one roll, even combat.

Basically, would you enjoy playing a game that allowed you to be killed on the basis of one challenge?

For example, Player A and Player B are fighting. They both use whatever randomizing system is in place and Player A beats Player B's score. The GM asks Player A what result he wanted, and he says he wants to kill Player B. Player B is now dead. It's fast and simple, so it doesn't slow things down, but your character can die just as quickly.
Download: Unistat

clehrich

Put that bluntly, yes, I'd have a problem with it.  But my reasons have nothing to do with speed: it's a question of who gets control of what characters.

Suppose, in the same situation, you slightly changed the post-roll structure.

First, I think A should be describing what he wants to happen on the cause side of events, i.e. "I hack his neck good and hard with this sharp axe" or whatever, as opposed to describing what actually happens to B.

Second, I think that B might be given the opportunity to describe the effect.  Death might be an appropriate option, but there might be others.

If you boil down all combat to a single die-roll, you have to have more narration elsewhere, it seems to me.  So if I'm player B, and the only say I get over what happens to my character is how I roll the dice, that sucks.  I feel like I'm being punished for bad luck.  But if I get to say what happens to me, however horrible it may be, then I can be creative and involved.
Chris Lehrich

Sean