*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 19, 2022, 10:43:04 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 83 - most online ever: 565 (October 17, 2020, 02:08:06 PM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Do leads accumulate?  (Read 3810 times)
Albert of Feh
Member

Posts: 68


« on: August 31, 2004, 04:32:07 PM »

A point of confusion popped up in my BW group during pre-game prep. Basically, do leads only count as paths from one life-path to the next, or do they accumulate and stick around until the player chooses to use them?

My gut tells me the first, but I think I'll just quote my player's points on the subject:

Quote

As for leads, yeah, I thought for a while that you could only take a lead from the most recent lifepath. After all, the Character Burner says. "... one path should logically lead to the next." But I've looked more carefully, and now I don't think so. He seems to have based everything on the rule that things get accumulated as you lay out lifepaths.

The first paragraph of "The Elements of a Lifepath" on p. 10 of the Character Burner reads:

Quote

On each path, characters can learn skills, gather friends, earn wages and garner affiliations.  Each lifepath ages the character and grants her trait points, resource points, stat points, leads, skills and skill points.  These are the building blocks of every character.


(Notice that, in the second sentence, everything else but leads clearly accumulates, suggesting that leads do too.)

The following note appears with Country Wife in the Peasant Setting on p.49 of the Character Burner:

Quote

Player may choose husband's lifepath from the Peasant setting.  Wife may take half husband's skill pts and leads.  She also takes 50% of husband's Res.


Obviously, there can be only one next lifepath. So it wouldn't make sense to take any more than one of the husband's leads unless they accumulate.
Logged
Luke
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 1359

Conventions Forum Moderator, First Thoughts Pest


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2004, 07:05:12 PM »

Wow, your players are parsing too closely.

Leads are only available from the last path walked.

Quote
On each path, characters can learn skills, gather friends, earn wages and garner affiliations. Each lifepath ages the character and grants her trait points, resource points, stat points, leads, skills and skill points. These are the building blocks of every character.


Leads are omitted from this descriiption because they do not "accumulate" like skill points or trait points.

hope that helps.
-L
Logged

Albert of Feh
Member

Posts: 68


« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2004, 08:46:56 PM »

Okay, that's what I thought, but there was enough ambiguity in the text that it seemed like it might be worth asking.

Something to consider for the rewrite, perhaps. :P

Thanks.
Logged
Kaare Berg
Member

Posts: 158


« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2004, 05:23:39 AM »

Didn't strike you odd that the wife gets half?

K
Logged

-K
taepoong
Member

Posts: 120


« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2004, 08:31:10 AM »

This is a time before pre-nups, apparently.
Logged

Abzu yelled at me and called my old sig "silly."
Eric Minton
Member

Posts: 41


« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2004, 12:57:41 PM »

It's clearly a typo; the Village Wife lifepath specifies that she takes "any of his leads."
Logged
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!