*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 23, 2017, 04:26:46 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 151 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: "Free" conflicts  (Read 3680 times)
Vaxalon
Member

Posts: 1619


« on: March 29, 2005, 09:09:46 PM »

What is free about a free conflict?

Does it not require a turn (or a story token) to put into play?

I don't see that anywhere in the rules.
Logged

"In our game the other night, Joshua's character came in as an improvised thing, but he was crap so he only contributed a d4!"
                                     --Vincent Baker
Andrew Morris
Member

Posts: 1233


WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2005, 09:36:02 PM »

If I understand correctly, you can add Free Conflicts/Events right before Claiming and before regular Actions. I don't believe it requires a Story Token to put into play, unless, of course, you're adding more than one. So, you could add a Free Conflict, Claim it, use an Ability on it, then Resolve it -- all in one Page. Unless I've completely misinterpreted it.
Logged

Download: Unistat
Vaxalon
Member

Posts: 1619


« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2005, 09:46:53 PM »

Or, if you DIDN'T want it to resolve right away, wait until after claiming to play it?
Logged

"In our game the other night, Joshua's character came in as an improvised thing, but he was crap so he only contributed a d4!"
                                     --Vincent Baker
Andrew Morris
Member

Posts: 1233


WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2005, 10:16:40 PM »

I don't think so. Again, not entirely sure (and it's late) but I believe they have to be played before Claiming.
Logged

Download: Unistat
Vaxalon
Member

Posts: 1619


« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2005, 02:57:21 AM »

I guess I'll have to wait for the word from the man who knows...
Logged

"In our game the other night, Joshua's character came in as an improvised thing, but he was crap so he only contributed a d4!"
                                     --Vincent Baker
Jack Aidley
Member

Posts: 488


WWW
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2005, 03:26:05 AM »

You have to have taken a side on a conflict to claim it (either by rolling that side up, or the other side down), so you can't play and then claim a conflict - free or not.
Logged

- Jack Aidley, Great Ork Gods, Iron Game Chef (Fantasy): Chanter
Jack Aidley
Member

Posts: 488


WWW
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2005, 03:30:24 AM »

Oh, and to answer the original question: IIRC:

* if you're playing a super, or an exemplar, you can place the free conflict between them into play on your action without using up that action. So you can place it and then act on it.

* if you're playing an event; your free conflict appears in play when you do. I don't think there is a choice about this?
Logged

- Jack Aidley, Great Ork Gods, Iron Game Chef (Fantasy): Chanter
Jonas Ferry
Member

Posts: 111


WWW
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2005, 03:49:21 AM »

Quote from: Jack Aidley
You have to have taken a side on a conflict to claim it (either by rolling that side up, or the other side down), so you can't play and then claim a conflict - free or not.

But it does say on p22 under "Pages" that:

"If they have no character Allied (particularly for a new Conflict where sides are not yet defined) they may put the marker on any side. Placing that marker is known as Claiming the side."

So you should be able to play and then claim.
Logged

One Can Have Her, film noir roleplaying in black and white.

Check out the indie RPG category at Wikipedia.
TonyLB
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 3702


WWW
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2005, 03:49:47 AM »

You can play a Free Conflict the same way you can play a Conflict by paying a Story Token (only, of course, without paying the Story Token).  You can do this at any time during the Claiming phase.  This includes:
    [*]At the beginning of that phase, before anyone claims.[*]At the beginning of your turn to Claim, after everyone before you has claimed, but before your opportunity to do so.[*]At the end of the Claiming phase, after everyone has gotten their free claims.[/list:u]You can immediately claim:  p. 22 "If they have no character Allied (particularly for a new Conflict where sides are not yet defined) they may put a marker on any side."
    Logged

    Just published: Capes
    New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
    Jack Aidley
    Member

    Posts: 488


    WWW
    « Reply #9 on: March 30, 2005, 04:01:38 AM »

    Oh, ok. Missed that rule.
    Logged

    - Jack Aidley, Great Ork Gods, Iron Game Chef (Fantasy): Chanter
    Vaxalon
    Member

    Posts: 1619


    « Reply #10 on: March 30, 2005, 05:54:24 AM »

    So you can't play free conflicts after the claiming phase, that is, when ordinary conflicts are played?
    Logged

    "In our game the other night, Joshua's character came in as an improvised thing, but he was crap so he only contributed a d4!"
                                         --Vincent Baker
    TonyLB
    Moderator
    Member
    *
    Posts: 3702


    WWW
    « Reply #11 on: March 30, 2005, 07:21:29 AM »

    Give me a second to check the rules.

    Okay, as written, you can only introduce Free Conflicts during the Claiming phase.  So, yeah, you can't do it in the middle of an Action phase.

    Now let me think what that does strategically... okay, yeah, that means that Free Conflicts are slightly less useful for prolonging scenes.  Any time you introduce them (even if it's at the end of the claiming phase) someone can claim a side immediately (though, at the end of the claiming phase, it will cost them a Story Token to do so).

    Was that smart design?  Hrm... yeah, I think on balance that's probably the right way to go.  The rest of the system makes it easier to do long scenes than short ones, so it's probably right to have this rule pulling (a little) in the other direction.  Subtle distinction though, in terms of game-play.

    Does that help?
    Logged

    Just published: Capes
    New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
    Vaxalon
    Member

    Posts: 1619


    « Reply #12 on: March 30, 2005, 07:38:48 AM »

    Yes, it helps; it's just that I don't see in the rules as written where that's said.

    It doesn't say, anywhere that I can find, that free conflicts are played during the claiming phase.
    Logged

    "In our game the other night, Joshua's character came in as an improvised thing, but he was crap so he only contributed a d4!"
                                         --Vincent Baker
    TonyLB
    Moderator
    Member
    *
    Posts: 3702


    WWW
    « Reply #13 on: March 30, 2005, 08:21:34 AM »

    Isn't it on the bottom of page 22, in the section about Claiming?
    Logged

    Just published: Capes
    New Project:  Misery Bubblegum
    Pages: [1]
    Print
    Jump to:  

    Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
    Oxygen design by Bloc
    Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!