News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[DitV] Comprehensive Alternate Setting Thread...

Started by foucalt, October 04, 2005, 02:52:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

foucalt

Hi all - I'm relatively new to the forge, and definitely new to DitV. I bought DitV, and really want to play it, but one of my key players (in fact, the guy I think would be best at GM-ing it) is totally turned off by the Western aspect of it. That's fine I guess - I've looked through a lot of the threads here, especially those about alternate settings, and I think that's the direction we'll have to go. I know some people feel that it oughta be played canonically first, and I acknowledge that would probably be better, but I just don't see it happening that way. We're one of those tight-knit been-playing-together-for-years kind of groups, and so essentially everyone has to totally buy in for it to work.

I understand ahead of time that for any alternate setting, key adaptations are making the Town generation sin progression stuff work; making sure the new Ceremonies make sense and map; having the Dogs' authority be recognizeable; and having a totem object to fill the role of the Coats. I'm not necessarily looking to flesh any of those out here, but if you care to include them as examples, great!

What I'm hoping this thread will be is at least a quick concept-list of ways DitV has been played or could pretty easily be adapted to play. To start, we have the ones Vincent includes in the book:

• Dogs in the Vineyard: psuedo-Mormon gunslingers in an Antebellum religious utopia of the American West
  • Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God: Early Colonial witch-hunters keeping the Massachussetts colony free from witchcraft and sorcery
  • Hounds of God: Inquisitors of the Spanish Inquisition rooting out heretics any way they can