News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Dust Devils Play

Started by Clay, April 07, 2002, 05:42:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clay

I played Dust Devils for the first time last night.  We hit a few snags, but none of them related to the system.  Overall we really liked the narration mechanic, although it took us some time to get the hang of it.  The five card stud resolution mechanic was also very satisfactory, especially for the new players.  While various funny dice rules might have confused them, a poker hand was easy to understand.

We had two neophyte players with us.  The wife of a friend that I've had some excellent gaming experiences with, and my own girlfriend were first time gamers in this session.  The general feeling was that the narration mechanic was a little difficult for new gamers, but after a few rounds of passing the narration around we had the hang of it.  In particular, my girlfriend grasped the concept the very first time that the narration passed to her.  We were instantly immersed in an in-game dialog, and the plot hooks were set.

Not suprisingly with new players, there was a strong tendency to be overly concerned with whether or not their characters would be motivated to become involved in something.  Once I mentioned that the story would move along a lot faster if we worked from the position of trying to think of a reason why the characters would care, we progressed nicely.  By the end of the session my neophyte gamers had moved around to solid director's stance.

As far as actual game concerns go, I have the following concerns: