News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Looking for feedback on a core mechanic

Started by mratomek, February 01, 2006, 05:36:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mratomek

I have been baking a game for a little over two years now and am finally at a point where I think it will see the press some time this year. I have been playing the game regularly at local game shops and cons for over a year with a lot of success. People seem to like it.

I wanted to expose the core system here and make sure I am not suffering from some kind of local kindness, so I would appreciate any feedback.

The game is a hybrid RPG/Minis wargame. It combines the best aspects of both worlds to allow people to create their own characters, worlds and scenarios--and then play head-to-head competativly or in more cooperative groups.

The core mechanic is the action roll. It involves converting a character's attribute score and power score to dice, adding any modifiers, and then calculating a total. Your total must be higher than your opponents total or a TN to be successful.

For example a character might have a Strength 6, Brawl 8 and a Martial Arts +1 special ability. When he made a Brawl action roll, he would roll D6 + D8 + 1.

Pretty straight forward. What I like about it is that even an extremely powerful character rolling 2D12 +3 can still roll a pretty crappy total, low enough for a mere human to get lucky some time. The system also allows characters to use their base attributes to make action rolls for tasks that they might not have a specific power for. It also offers quite a bit of flexibility and control when designing a character.

Thoughts, Suggestions, Criticisms... tear away.

Thanks.

MrAtomek

Once upon a time ... the Earth needed to be saved ... on a regular basis.

Super Force Seven
Tactical RPG / Miniatures Wargame

www.superforceseven.com

dindenver

Hi!
  OK, two comments: