News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Setting Design Challenge

Started by Frank T, November 07, 2006, 10:54:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank T

Ron's TSoY actual play and the Frontier Challenge thread triggered an idea that now sits in the back of my head like an evil monkey. I've been saying since 2004 that I'd like to see more of what thoughtful setting design can do. I'm not talking about setting as an element of exploration here. Rather, I'm talking about setting as set fictional content created by the designer of a game.

Here's what to do: Create a setting for an already existing game. You may leave stuff up to the players (like e.g. the supernatural dial in Dogs, or the blanks and maybes in Polaris), but for this contest, you have to establish a solid bit of canonical fiction. If you want to make references to the rules set for which you are writing, which is recommended, you should ask the owner for permission unless the rules set is free anyway. I would like to allow non-indie game systems such as d20, if that's ok with the site rules.

Present the setting in a way that shows the reader immediately how she can use it to play the game (no "thinly disguised fiction", please). You may include "special rules" for your setting, but the focus should be on how the fictional content you establish helps to create the kind of interesting in-game situations you want for the game.

My suggestion for the course of the Challenge is this: The setting should be uploaded before the end of this year. The text should be no more than 10,000 words. You may work together on a project. In fact, I would encourage co-authorship, or cooperation of artists and writers. After the submission period is over, the winner is determined by a voting procedure among the participants, similar to the one they used in the Games Chef.