*
*
Home
Help
Login
Register
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
July 17, 2019, 10:40:33 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.
Search:     Advanced search
275647 Posts in 27717 Topics by 4285 Members Latest Member: - Jason DAngelo Most online today: 158 - most online ever: 429 (November 03, 2007, 04:35:43 AM)
Pages: [1]
Print
Author Topic: Armor?  (Read 1889 times)
Banesfinger
Member

Posts: 4


« on: February 27, 2007, 01:25:28 PM »

i]all victories from causing damage?  Or does this just stop a single (1) wound from getting through?

For example, using the battle on page 54-55, had the Boar been successful on it's armor roll (rolled a '6' on d10, with -2 penalty to its armor roll = 4), would the boar's armor (tough hide) stop both (2) of Aleta's wounds?

Assuming that Armor stops all-or-nothing, this can be a very important roll (especially against a hit with multiple victories).  I would expect everyone would attempt to use a Creative Ability on this roll (FAQ stated you may use this in combat).  Could you get away with Creative Abilities for:

Insight or Grace: attempt to manoeuvre your body so most armor is facing/block opponent's weapon.
Might: put your armor on tighter, or used metalsmithing to forge a better suit of armor.
Orate or Lore: found the best armor/material in the local market.
Etc - many other ideas.

Could you use a different Creative Ability each time you got hit and attempted an armor roll (e.g., Insight 1st hit, Might 2nd hit, etc)?

Thoughts?

all[/i] victories from causing damage?  Or does this just stop a single (1) wound from getting through?

For example, using the battle on page 54-55, had the Boar been successful on it's armor roll (rolled a '6' on d10, with -2 penalty to its armor roll = 4), would the boar's armor (tough hide) stop both (2) of Aleta's wounds?

Assuming that Armor stops all-or-nothing, this can be a very important roll (especially against a hit with multiple victories).  I would expect everyone would attempt to use a Creative Ability on this roll (FAQ stated you may use this in combat).  Could you get away with Creative Abilities for:

Insight or Grace: attempt to manoeuvre your body so most armor is facing/block opponent's weapon.
Might: put your armor on tighter, or used metalsmithing to forge a better suit of armor.
Orate or Lore: found the best armor/material in the local market.
Etc - many other ideas.

Could you use a different Creative Ability each time you got hit and attempted an armor roll (e.g., Insight 1st hit, Might 2nd hit, etc)?

Thoughts?

Logged
John Harper
Moderator
Member
*
Posts: 1054

flip you for real


WWW
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2007, 01:38:13 PM »

I love good questions.

A successful armor roll stops all wounds from that attack. After a successful use, the armor die is impaired.

And yes, you can you use Creative Abilities on an armor roll.

EDIT: No, you can't. I don't know what I was thinking here. You cannot use creative abilities on armor rolls.
« Last Edit: February 02, 2008, 12:29:38 PM by John Harper » Logged

Agon: An ancient Greek RPG. Prove the glory of your name!
Pages: [1]
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC
Oxygen design by Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!