News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Alternate Health System for d20 Martial Arts

Started by Nathan W, October 14, 2007, 01:37:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nathan W

Hey all, this is my first post.

Short Intro of Me: Hey, my name's Nathan, since people seem to like being on a first name basis here. I've been playing (and mostly GMing) RPGs for over 10 years, but I'll admit that my experience is limited to only three RPing groups and about a half-dozen games/systems. My first introduction to pen-and-paper/table-top RPing was the Star Wars d20 RPG. For as long as I've been playing RPGs I've been toying around with designing them (along with various card and board games), but I've never really brought an RPG into a state where I'd consider it "finished". My mind tends to wander, so I'm usually working on multiple games at once. I find that this actually helps with my creative process because as I develop new mechanics for one game they give me a clearer understanding of, and new ideas for, my other projects. I just discovered the Forge about a week ago and love what I've seen. Rather than bombard you fine people with my  numerous ideas, I'll just ask your opinion on one.

My Idea: I'm working on an RPG that attempts to simulate the kind of low-fantasy, martial arts action of movies such as "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon", "Hero", "House of Flying Daggers", "Final Fantasy 7: Advent Children", etc. (admittedly, FF7:AC is a bit different from those others but it shares some similarities)

For those who may not be familiar with those titles, some of the key elements I'm looking for are these:
1. Otherwise ordinary, or non-magical, heroes defy the laws of physics. They run up walls, skip across water, and even fly as they do battle.
2. Master fighters are so good that lesser fighters can't even land a blow on them, and other masters can only land a blow on them rarely.