News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

[Tsoy] About the development of Near?

Started by Simon JB, September 18, 2008, 05:37:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Simon JB

I'll keep adding threads here, if you don't mind! .D

Eero, in the stickied thread you ask for links to Near material for your work with writing a new canon text about the World of Near, but I was wondering if you'd like to tell us a bit about how you're planning to go about your work? Specifically if there's any kind of new input about the world you'd be interested in seeing here?

Eero Tuovinen

Oh, I'm very interested in everybody's ideas. I'll write about my own notions in more length, too, later when I start working on the project for real. Practically speaking, my goal is to get the new book written sometime during the winter. I have one other big project on the stove (Eleanor's Dream, a game I've been wrangling with for a couple of years), so I might not start the actual writing of the TSoY book this year yet. But it could be done next summer, if all goes well.

The basic ideas I'm working from right now are something like this:

• I want to lay out the book into an easily accessible reference work that is locally coherent - each shortish chapter presents one topic comprehensively, and references others explicitly when necessary. Like a dictionary, one might say. Dictionary of Mu, and the way Judd recommends it to be used, is pretty close to what I've been planning in some ways. I want to make it explicit that a given campaign will, by necessity, focus on only a part of the material instead of trying to roll everything comprehensively into one big pot.