News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Why should I split my combat pool?

Started by Balbinus, May 20, 2003, 11:21:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Balbinus

Hi all,

A remarkably simple question here, and one I imagine there is a very simple answer to.

Let's say I have a 13 dice combat pool, my opponent has a 12 dice combat pool.  I strike first having initiative.

Why shouldn't I put all 13 dice into attack leaving nothing for parrying etc.?

If he splits his pool he'll probably only have six or seven dice defending against my 13.  I'll hit and most likely take him out before he even gets to strike at me.

Except that can't be right and I strongly suspect I've either misread this element of the rules or misunderstood it.  Anyone care to enlighten me?
AKA max

gmouser

I think if he makes a parry with 9-10 dice he should have a good probability of success and in the second exchange you're dead meat cause you haven't dice left.

Grey Mouser

toli

It also depends a lot on the weapons and armor of your opponent and your self.  If your opponent is well armored and has good defensive weapons, he has a good chance of not being hurt.  Then you're in trouble, unless your in full plate....in which case I say hack away....
NT

Ron Edwards

Hi Max,

Check out the All dice on offense! thread for lots o' discussion about this issue.

Best,
Ron

Balbinus

Quote from: Ron EdwardsHi Max,

Check out the All dice on offense! thread for lots o' discussion about this issue.

Best,
Ron

That's very helpful Ron, thanks.
AKA max

Bankuei

Hi Max,

Its definitely a tempting manuever, for sure.  There's a couple of things that stop it from being the "all the time, best move"...

-Friends, if he's got'em, you might be in for a surprise on the second exchange!
-Full evasion!  If he can evade, he might buy time until friends come, or he can lead you to bad terrain and get you to use up some of your pool.