News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Untitled Nar-Sim Superheroes: A beginning

Started by AnyaTheBlue, June 06, 2003, 09:24:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AnyaTheBlue

Hi!  I'm a newbie here.  This may not be the best place to start, but I might as well jump in with both feet.  If a system like this already exists, please let me know!

First:  I like superheroes.  I like them when they're done 'funny', like the Tick, and I like them when they're done all pretentious, like The Authority, and I also like them when they're just done darn well, like Jack Staff, or Astro City.

I also really like superhero RPGs.  Villains & Vigilantes was the second RPG I ever played.  Champions had a better system, but I always felt V&V had a better tone and feel to it.  It was more atmospheric to my younger self, and seemed to get the spirit of being a hero down better.

Second:  I only have half-formed notions here.  I'm looking for input, direction, and inspiration.  Further work (assuming I don't find an existing system that meets my needs) would end up on a web page and/or in a freely-downloadable PDF.

Third:  Although a lot of water has gone under the Superhero RPG bridge in the past twenty years, I still feel like every system I've used has a problem or two.

The two big ones are scale and complexity.  There's also a Morality issue.

I call the scale problem the "Worlds Finest Problem".  Superman completely outclasses Batman in terms of 'points', 'power', and/or 'game balance'.  Yet when they team up, they're both roughly equal in their in-story effectiveness.  Heck, Batman outclasses Robin in a similar way, yet Robin still contributes to the story.  The mechanics should reflect this somehow.