News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Duellists: Endgame : Diceless Mechanic.

Started by JW Carroll, August 26, 2003, 04:00:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JW Carroll

Hello all.

Here's the second thread in the ongoing developement of Duellists: Endgame. I started this in response to two posts on the main thread  one by MachMoh and the other by Mike Holmes. I want to explain and defend my decision to make Duellists a DRPG and since I think that this is a highly charged subject between designers I feel it should have its own thread...

First off let me say this : I have nothing against dice!! Most of my favorite games use dice and truth be told I enjoy rolling the little buggers quite a bit.

That being said dice are a little overused... Just about every mechanic I can possibly think of has been used ad infinitum. As I'm sure you've all realized as a designer I don't want to just paint the same old house a different color I want something new and exciting. This is not to say that dice games can't be new and exciting but  I would like to do something radical. Perhaps I'm getting a little over ambitious here but when one is trying to push the bounds of the industry one can't afford to be timid.

There are problems with DRP.  As MacMoh pointed out:

QuoteI'm a little worried about how a subjective, diceless system could handle the climactic duels. A lot is at stake, and thats when the players will most feel cheated if they don't win. Even against a stronger duelist. Just my 2-cents, and my general experience with all diceless rpgs. They always seem to go well, until the player starts losing.