News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Two Page Action Movie RPG - Playtime!

Started by unodiablo, November 15, 2001, 04:21:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

unodiablo

After playing Two Page Action Movie RPG (2PAM from here on out) three times in two weeks, I thought I'd take the time to do a post about it.

I've played it with two groups, the first is 'my' Tuesday night group, the other is the Weds nite group I started playing with last week. We're playing a game of their design normally, but last night there were only three of us, and they wanted to play something light hearted, with zombies. Well, as many of you know here, I'm the guy for that! :smile:

My group: Last week two people couldn't make it, so Larry set about creating his character and learning the simple dice system. Tim was there, but just watched, as he had a character and had playtested it with me previously a bit. Larry came up with a character named Yi Wu Ping, a combination of an old master w/ magical chi powers and a drunken master. We played out a scene against one of the baddies they would face the following week. No plot involved, just a 'bad guy attacking you in your temple' scene. We found that the system is fast and very narrative if the player gets into it... But the Leads were having a hard time doing damage to each other consistantly. I bumped the target number for Lead damage down one, to 5 instead of 6. Since that minor change, it's been smooth sailing, tho I think I'm going to have to come up with a fast way to have Leads resolve conflicts that are non-combat oriented. I'll probably just 'borrow' the dice mechanic from Sorcerer; roll your applicable pool, and then see who wins by comparing highest numbers. There goes the Two Page title.  :smile: