News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

Size of Rules & Stuff

Started by Christoffer Lernö, September 21, 2002, 09:47:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Christoffer Lernö

I was looking through some old RPGs from when I started playing. I remember these game as good introductions and not too overwhelming.

Checking through them though, they turn out to be maybe something like 40 A4 pages. I remember reading something about Orkworld where Wick said he originally aimed at 104 pages but ended up with a 200+ something eventually.

This gets me thinking. How much does a 40 page game limit me (we're talking about a format which would translate to 40 A4 pages but the actual page-count would be higher)? Even if I double that with a separate book for setting details and maybe magic spells if I have 'em - will I be having to cut of a lot of fat from the text?

You who already PDF:ed your stuff and such, you should know approximately how much you need and for what. Help?
formerly Pale Fire
[Yggdrasil (in progress) | The Evil (v1.2)]
Ranked #1005 in meaningful posts
Indie-Netgaming member

Jack Spencer Jr

Heya.

Speaking on the Orkworld thing, you may recall he had a set goal for the game, 104 pp or whatever, but it later balloned up. The reason, if you may recall, is because of a conversation with James Wallis:

Wick said: "Orkworld is going to be 104 pp."

Wallis said: "Why?"

The point John took from this was that the game should be as long as it has to be. Period. So he ditched his page count goal and simply wrote the game. If it had turned out to be 50 pp or 10,000pp. that's as long as it needed to be, so that's how long it would be.

I suppose two things to keep in mind is: Do not leave out anything that's necessary and Leave out anything that is unnecessary.