News:

Forum changes: Editing of posts has been turned off until further notice.

Main Menu

The Dancey Ratio and the Strange Case of the Missing Gamers

Started by b_bankhead, May 07, 2003, 08:49:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

b_bankhead

Ryan Dancey has repeatedly quoted the number based on WOTC marketing research that there are 1.6 million active players of D&D in America.  This is people actually sitting around tables and kicking in the doors on orcs mind you ,not just buyers, who he claims are a far smaller number.

America has a population of approxiamately 250 million so it is a simple matter to show that active D&D gamers make up 0.64% of the overall USA population.

I am a resident of Columbus, Ohio and I have been since 1977.  I have been involved in the gaming scene in this city off and on since that time.  I have seen all the game shops ,visited all the clubs and generally seen pretty much all what the Columbus gaming scene has to offer.

Columbus  also has a long history of being one of America's most widely used test market cities.  Because our demographics is so 'average' and because we are within 500 miles of the majority of the US population and because we are fairly large (15th largest metro in America). Many of the newest consumer products you see being nationally distributed had their first 'roll-out' in Columbus.

We are also the home base of Origins.  But the population of Origins is drawn from all over the country so it isn't very siginifigant to the discussion of just the Columbus gaming population.

Given all this I feel confident that Columbus is pretty representative of the overall USA in terms of it's makeup, because major corporations bet millions that it is .  Put simply if it's good enough for the Pepsi bottling company it's good enough for me and should be for you....

The Columbus metro area has a population of 711,470 as per the last census.  The overall Franklin county area has a population of approxiamately 1.5 million.